I’ve had a few days of not writing. Sorry about that. The house is still kind of a mess, but I’ve enjoyed taking some actual time off. Not a whole lot, but E hung out at Grandma’s house for a few hours, and it was my day to sleep in yesterday, and then today we took a trip out to Siuslaw Falls for some wading. Now the wee boy is asleep, Uncle Chris caught up on season 4 of Breaking Bad at our place and we ate and watched Hell’s Kitchen over at their place. I didn’t buy, cook, or clean up after anything. And Chip made blackberry milkshakes in the garage for dessert.

Stairway to Heaven

It's fucking Heaven.

It’s been a good weekend. Getting back on our normal schedule tomorrow. I’m finally starting to bring the house back into line; the kitchen’s still a wreck (aside from the dishes Chip washed) but the living room has been fixed and moved again to try to stay one step ahead of E on babyproofing. My sewing machine has been relocated since he suddenly could reach the drawers, and we’ve added yet another baby gate, this one to stop him from crawling right out the front door. He’s so fast.

Sunshine

He has discovered outside and is determined to be there.

I don’t know. There isn’t a lot for me to talk about in my day-to-day life, unless I’m giving play-by-play of E’s development. This week he cut three teeth and learned to clap his hands. He’s starting to climb things when he pulls up; yesterday we caught him using his toy box as a step stool. There is no longer any space on the coffee table that he can’t reach, so we  have to keep the remotes on top of the TV. Which renders them pretty damn useless, but it isn’t like I’m sitting that long anymore.

Mommy's Helper

He's very into "helping"

I guess I’ve just needed a few days of quiet to process the visit with my father and brother. It went really well; I think we’ve laid some good groundwork. I don’t really have much to say about it, it was just a lot of getting-to-know-you and learning to feel more comfortable around each other. My brother and I are remarkably alike, given what totally separate upbringings we had. He and Dad both have the same weird sense of humor as I have. And it was nice, seeing that they have the same kind of close relationship I have with my mom.

Uncle Chip

And I finally made my brother say "Uncle"

I think I’m going to continue this relaxing, indulgent day by going to bed early.

