I’m taking a little trip with my mom this week, She’s taking a class and I am tagging along for the change of scenery. It’s nice for Chip to have some time to himself, too. I’m very excited to take E to his first “big city” experience in downtown Portland. Given how much he wants to walk I didn’t even bring the stroller. We don’t have anything we have to do while we’re here, and we’re right downtown. Plus, he’s going to flip at Powell’s, That kid loves books more than almost anything except for Dada, Tseese and Kuh-tuh.

Kuh-tuh had a sharp drop in popularity this morning.

I’m in this nice hotel, sitting at my laptop, watching reruns of South Park. In one room my mom’s asleep, in the other my son’s asleep, and I don’t have anything to do but relax. I literally do not remember the last time I just did nothing; there’s always a load of laundry to run or some dishes I ought to be doing, and I can’t turn my brain off enough to just put my feet up. But not tonight. There’s a really lovely couch to curl up on, and I get to watch cable.

We haven't had cable since we discovered Netflix

It’s just a moment where I felt so grateful for what I have. I’ve been thinking so much about L.A. and the life I had then that I really needed this little escape. It’s hard to remember those days living in hotels I wouldn’t even stop at for directions now. There were lots of good parts, but the bad was really, really bad. Talking about things that happened in that apartment in San Dimas really stirs that up, and if I think about it too hard, I can pull up an echo of the fear and anxiety I lived in. But I’m not doing that tonight. I will definitely have one up in the next day or two; I have a Spoilerific Review that’s almost done. But for now, I’m going to drink hot chocolate and relax. It turns out that living well? Is actually better than revenge.

It's a good life.

My throne awaits.

